Tuesday, February 5, 2008

The FJSA Hall of Honor: Seeking nominations

The Texas A&M Former Journalism Students Association began in 1994 in connection with the Battalion's 100th anniversary celebration. Each year, it holds either a banquet or reception and, since 1997, has honored a distinguished alumnus or alumna with induction into its Hall of Honor.

Nominations are now open for the Fall 2008 honoree. If you know an A&M journalism grad who has set a shining example of excellence in the business, please send their name, year of graduation, and a brief explanation of why they should be considered to one of the FJSA officers.

The Hall of Honor, listed by year of induction:

2007: Kathleen McElroy '81, senior editor for continuous news at the New York Times
2006: Rolando Santos '78, senior VP for international relations at CNN
2005: Jon Heidtke '81, senior VP and general manager, FSN Southwest
2004: Tom Curl '70, more than three decades in magazine publishing
2003: John Hotard '65, longtime spokesman for American Airlines, cofounder of FJSA
2002: Debby Krenek '78, former editor of New York Daily News, now managing editor at Newsday
2001: Allen Pengelly '53, longtime Houston TV news producer
and Calvin Pigg '54, longtime editor of the Southwest Farm Press
2000: Glenn Dromgoole '66, author and longtime editor in Fort Worth, Bryan-College Station and Abilene
1999: Leroy Shafer '67, chief operating officer, Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo
1998: Tom DeFrank '67, Washington bureau chief, New York Daily News
1997: Tom Hargrove '66, international agricultural communication specialist whose writings while kidnapped in Colombia became the basis for a book and the movie "Proof of Life."